Raspberry Jalepeno Bars!

Since the school year has come to an end, I have had a lot of free time on my hands. I can only do so much cleaning, so I made plans to go to a u-pick berry farm in Tigard (Baggenstos, my all time favorite u-pick farm!). Raspberries, blueberries and marion berries are all in season and just as my mind began to wander in all of the wonderful directions that those berries would take my canning endeavors (jams, preserves, jellies, pie fillings, syrups…), my rational brain was immediately alerted to the pantry which is currently over flowing with jars and jars of raspberry jams and preserves that I made a few months ago.

My rational brain reminded me that it would be awfully wasteful to head out to the farm and pick berries to make more jam when I already had so much at home. “There is absolutely no way that Daniel and I can eat all of this jam by Friday”, I thought to myself…And then this idea was born. There is noting better than warm, gooey, sweet, yet tart raspberry crumble bars. Oh wait, there is: Gluten free, raspberry-jalepeno crumble bars.

The jalepeno part was actually sort of an accident. As I was assembling ingredients to make this treat, I noticed that I had grabbed one jar of raspberry-jalepeno jam along with my raspberry preserves. Honestly, I was too lazy to walk back out to the pantry to grab another jar of jam, so here we are. Personally, I love the flavor combination, but if that isn’t your cup of tea—just use all raspberry jam. My feelings won’t be hurt.

I wish I took pictures of the process for visual purposes, but this recipe is very cut and dry, and thus, easy to follow. I hope.

IMG_3996.JPG

Ingredients

½ cup unsalted butter, melted

½ cup white sugar

¼ cup brown sugar, packed

½ tsp vanilla extract (or to taste)

Salt to taste

1 cup gluten free baking flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill cup-for-cup)

¾ cup gluten free rolled oats (again, I used Bob’s Red Mill)

1 pint homemade raspberry preserves

½ pint homemade raspberry-jalepeno jam

2 pints fresh raspberries, rinsed and patted dry

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8×8 baking pan.

Combine your melted butter, sugars, and vanilla in a medium sized bowl, whisking until completely incorporated (about 30 seconds to 1 minute). Next, add your dry ingredients (gf flour, oats and salt). Using a spatula, stir ingredients together until combined. It should be a beautiful mix of lumpy and sandy. Set aside 1 cup or so for the topping.

Take the remainder of the crumble mix and using a spatula or your hands, if you aren’t afraid of getting a little dirty, and press the mixture into the bottom of your prepared baking pan. This will form the crust on the bottom of your bars. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, combine your raspberry-jalepeno jam and raspberry preserves together using a spoon or a whisk. Add both pints of raspberries and mash gently. If you aren’t a fan of tart, I’d advise adding a little bit of sugar here. I like tart, so I left it as is. Taste it, make your own choice.

Take your raspberry concoction and spread it evenly over the “crust” that you set aside earlier. It should be about ½ inch thick. Take your set aside crumble toping, and evenly distribute that deliciousness over the top of your raspberry mess.

Pop it into the oven for 35-40 minutes, checking every few minutes after the 30 minute mark. You want the middle to be set, and the topping to be slightly toasty.

Place your hot pan on top of a cooling rack and let it sit for at least 2 hours before diving in. I think this would be delicious with fresh cream drizzled on top, or fresh whipped cream…Yum!

Leave a Reply

